The Evolution of Erika and Update on Stronger Than Memory #evolution

When I started blogging, I wrote about being an apprentice to a licensed midwife. Then I wrote about being “just” a stay-at-home mom of four. Then I was a sahm unexpectedly pregnant with #5. Then I was a stay-at-home-mom of five, including one with severe ADHD, who cooked a lot. Then I moved away from my friends and was lonely and homeschooling my kids. Then I wrote a novel during NaNoWriMo last year and planned to edit and publish it.

Now I’m taking community college classes and planning to get my Associate’s Degree in Nursing and work part time as a RN.

20130520-225817.jpg

I have a lot of things in the air

For the last six months or so, I’ve intended to use this blog as a platform to promote myself as a writer. Yet it would be disingenuous to continue saying I’m going to self-publish this year, because I don’t think I’m going to follow that path. I would like to publish Stronger Than Memory someday, but right now I don’t have the time, money or INCLINATION to get it ready to publish. It’s still in draft form, and while it’s on draft #5436345, it’s not the final draft, or even close. The time and money thing isn’t as much of an issue; the lack of inclination is.

I want to become a nurse because there are people who need medical help, and I want to be someone who can help them. Between the education required for that and my family, I don’t have much free time. I haven’t even read this month’s book club selection and we meet on Wednesday evening!

But I did get a 94 on my most recent math quiz.

On campus in May

On campus in May

So I’m going to change my description on this blog and I’m going to take down my Goodreads profile that lists me as a Goodreads author. I’m going to pat myself on the back for being creative and ambitious and hope that someday I get the time, money and INCLINATION to continue editing Stronger Than Memory until it’s ready to be published.

And then I’m going to go back to refreshing my college course offerings website until I find an open seat in Anatomy and Physiology for the fall.

 

2 Responses

  1. Life is always changing, and you have to be willing to change with it, which apparently you are. I hope that in the middle of all your studies you find time to read a book or two and write about them. That’s how I found you in the first place, after you reviewed On The Island. Good Luck!

Comments? Thoughts? Streams of Consciousness?

