Glaucoma #glaucoma

I went to the eye doctor recently. It’s been a few years, but my Rx has been stable for years and I wear glasses, which is less stressful on eyes. Also, I always wear sunglasses. I thought I was in good eye health.

20130531-050258.jpg
I always wear Rx sunglasses

Because I live in an area with a lot of (golf courses and) retired people, my exam was thorough enough to detect all the eye issues that older people get. It was THOROUGH. I’ve worn glasses since I was 12; I’ve had a lot of eye exams.

And the eye doctor found glaucoma on my left eye.

My Oma has macular degeneration and is legally blind, so I knew eye problems were a thing but I was still disappointed/freaked to get the news.

20130531-050927.jpg

The doctor said it could be years before the glaucoma affects my vision, at which point I’ll have surgical options.

My Chemical Romance suggested medical marijuana. Thanks. Hilarious.

The doc also cautioned against LASIK, which I’ve always wanted, because when I do need surgery for glaucoma, it will negate the effects of the LASIK.

I was not happy to hear that.

20130531-051634.jpg

I’m going to get a second opinion.

Comments? Thoughts? Streams of Consciousness?

