No More High Fructose Corn Syrup in my house #hfcs #banhfcs

So, in the last few years, we’ve started eating a LOT healthier. I credit Miss Manners with teaching me about clean eating; she has always emphasized the health benefits of organic meat, dairy and produce, as well as avoiding partially hydrogenated oils (aka trans fats). I am using very straight forward, mainstream links for this info, y’all. I don’t want to let my crunchy hippie-ness get in the way of REAL INFORMATION.

And now, as I’ve mentioned once or twice or eighteen billion times, we’re Primal/Paleo as well as casein-free for Mineral and me. There’s a lot of anecdotal evidence that children with ADHD benefit from being gluten-free AND casein-free. Not sure if I see a huge difference yet  but we’re still early. Also, I’m still experimenting with raw-milk cheese to see how Mineral (and I) tolerate it. It’s a real case of YMMV (your mileage may vary).

Just recently I read something on FB about high fructose corn syrup. Yeah, I’ve been hearing about HFCS for years from my crunchy friends. It’s evil; ban it; also ban GMOs. But despite the fact that I generally agree with my crunchy friends about stuff (and disagree with the USDA about most everything), I like to do my own research. So here goes:

High fructose corn syrup is a common sweetener. It’s made of corn (duh). It’s cheaper than sugar, and as most farmers are subsidized by the government for corn production, our country has a vested interest in utilizing corn products in our food. It’s in EVERYTHING.

But.

Since HFCS has been introduced into our mainstream diet, obesity rates have skyrocketed. (Says the girl who was morbidly obese for about eight years, til I had weight-loss surgery.) I’m not going to blame it all on HFCS because there’s a myriad of reasons, but according to this study

The increase in consumption of HFCS has a temporal relation to the epidemic of obesity, and the overconsumption of HFCS in calorically sweetened beverages may play a role in the epidemic of obesity.

Here’s a study. Yeah, it’s about rats. But the rats consumed a regular diet, a diet of sucrose (sugar) and a diet of HFCS.

Compared to animals eating only rat chow, rats on a diet rich in high-fructose corn syrup showed characteristic signs of a dangerous condition known in humans as the metabolic syndrome, including abnormal weight gain, significant increases in circulating triglycerides and augmented fat deposition, especially visceral fat around the belly. Male rats in particular ballooned in size: Animals with access to high-fructose corn syrup gained 48 percent more weight than those eating a normal diet.

That’s really enough reason for me. With my own history of obesity, I’ll take away any food that I think might contribute to ill health in my children. Plus, I have no problem with my kids eating pure sugar. (Well. Not as much of a problem.) I’m not taking away THAT. Just HFCS.

Here’s another study. More rats.

HFCS is absorbed more rapidly than regular sugar, and that it doesn’t stimulate insulin or leptin production. This prevents you from triggering the body’s signals for being full and may lead to overconsumption of total calories.

AWESOME! Not winning 😦

So, I’m getting all HFCS out of my house. Because of the above-mentioned Primal/Paleo/Casein-Free, we don’t have a lot. But I still found it in all of this:

Image

Really. RELISH?!?!?

And another huge source of HFCS: KETCHUP.

I’ll either make my own or buy some HFCS free ketchup.

Image

Simply Heinz HFCS-Free Ketchup (credit: eatdrinkbetter.com)

Here’s some surprising sources of HFCS (that we don’t have in my house, but still surprising):

Yogurt; bread; cereal bars; frozen pizza; easy Mac; cocktail peanuts; Seagram’s tonic water; salad dressing; canned fruit.

2 Responses

  1. Way to go! I have tried to stay away from it for years but you really do have to look at every label its in stuff you would never think it was.

    I have to say i have been reading your posts more lately………….love the grey poupon commercial! Reminds me of my childhood and now its on my grocery list………wonder if it has HFCS in it?

  2. Sorry I haven’t commented in forEVER but I’m still your biggest fan. =) SO sorry about Oliver Stone and your mom, a little freaked at your crazy diet but so intruiged, and now KETCHUP is evil, shite my mutha, I might have to break down and manufacture my own. Gar. I LOVE the photo of the girl “in pain” in her underwear and your caption Yeah I totally looked like this! Yeah, I always look like that when I’m sick too. HAH.
    FWIW, I’ve had patients before with kidney stones. Those turds are no joke. Hurt like a MOFO.
    xo.

Comments? Thoughts? Streams of Consciousness?

