Book Review: Fallen Too Far by Abbi Glines

4 stars

Fallen Too Far by Abbi Glines $3.99 on Kindle.

Hooray! We’ve left the sweet malleable Seabreeze girls behind in favor of a shotgun-totin’ badass chick heroine. Thank you for that, Abbi Glines. I appreciate a strong female who knows what she wants and goes for it.

And what Blaire wants is her hot, mysterious, sexy stepbrother, Rush. (Before you say eww, I have one word for you: Clueless.)

Also, she wants independence, although that’s a given, since she has no family other than her dad, who left her mother five years ago. Now that her mother died of cancer, she reluctantly makes her way to Florida to see him. Meanwhile, dad is on vacation with his new wife, Rush’s mom, but Rush grudgingly accepts her presence.

So Blaire gets a job at the local country club, where everyone is nice — except Nan, Rush’s sister. What is Nan’s deal? Blaire grows closer to Rush, despite his misgivings that can be summed up in the following phrase: “just can’t stay away you’re just so sweet I can’t help it I’m actually a sensitive tortured soul under my tattoos and random fuck buddies.”

It’s an alpha male schtick. But damn, nobody writes an alpha male like Abbi Glibes!

I actually loved the story and give that aspect five stars, but the editing gets three. Here’s why:

1. It was poorly Kindle-formatted, at least on my iPhone. I have no idea why or how, but it was a challenge to read.

2. Some comma issues, issues with possession and a few misspelled words.

3. The conversations between characters don’t use enough contractions. It reads clunky. I don’t think I’m that loose with conversation, but after reading every one of the Seabreeze books, I wondered if I don’t slur all my sentences. I do not. (See what I did there?)

That said, I’ve read all of Abbi Glines’ books and I think this is her best yet. It’s got the right amount of New Adult Romance formula so you know it’s going to have a hot Alpha, but the plot was surprising enough to keep me reading, not just for the sex scenes!

I look forward to the next book in the series. I know that all of the fans are saying that– but I hope the author takes her time and edits it thoughtfully.

Comments? Thoughts? Streams of Consciousness?

