My New Job

Did I mention I got a job? It’s true. A part time job, mostly weekends and an evening or two, at a retail store.

I’ve been thinking about working ever since Cousin It was approximately old enough to be left alone for a few hours. I applied for some work-at-home/internet search evaluator positions, but I failed the exam. Whoops. I guess all my time online really IS wasted.

My Chemical Romance has a good career and works hard, but it takes a lot to support an accident-prone wife with rear-end issues a large family that eats food. (By food, I mean minimally-processed, organic and mostly from-scratch, save the occasional box of Kraft dinner.)

20120716-223553.jpgIt takes a lot to keep us going.

I found my job on Craigslist. Since I’ve been married, I have only had one job: customer service at the YMCA in Arizona. That was over five years ago. Before meeting My Chemical Romance, I worked very briefly at an office-supply store and also I was a waitress. Then I was pregnant with Animal and Mineral and on bedrest. While in college, I worked in the cafeteria, the undergrad library and as a telemarketer for the university. I also canvassed. During my last semester I worked as a teller at a credit union, where I was once written up for making a grammar edit suggestion to my boss before she emailed the president of the credit union.

This job listing seemed like it was perfect for me: primarily weekends and very close to my house. Like, two blocks away. However, I was nervous because my resume is obviously quite sparse.

But I prevailed! In fact, I didn’t even have to show my resume! I emailed the company owner and I went in for an interview. Immediately I explained that although I am light on job history, I’m smart and motivated and will work hard! Also, I’m responsible and interested in the items they sell. I just kept emphasizing willing to learn and responsible.

20120716-223835.jpgThey hired me!

I have no idea what my long-term plans are — if I’m going to eventually go back to school for some kind of post-graduate degree; I even think about nurse-midwifery sometimes — but I’m really grateful for the opportunity to work after years of not having a job. I support the company and what they sell, and I’m glad to get out of the house a little. And bring in some extra income.

One Response

  1. Congratulations! I keep wishing I added more to the family coffers. Glad you found something that should work well for you.

    P.S. I daydream about midwifery, too.

Comments? Thoughts? Streams of Consciousness?

