Update on My 33rd Birthday List

I have crossed two things off my bucket list for my 33rd birthday: Zumba and donating $10. I gave an extra dollar because I was a day or two late.

Zumba was interesting. I know I’m uncoordinated but I didn’t realize the extent of my lack-of-coordination til I was in the class —

Wait, did I mention I joined a gym? No my blog has not been hacked. My Chemical Romance’s insurance has a deal with gyms where you can get a membership for cheap. So I joined.

Anyway, I am uncoordinated. The minute I started to follow along, it was time for a new move. Dammit. Six years ago, between The Informant and My Masterpiece, I was a gym rat, but this was before Zumba. I loved step, spin and cardio kickboxing. Now I cannot imagine my but is healed enough for spin (or ever will be) but I’ve attended step and yoga. Kickboxing is too much torture.

20120619-101526.jpg
I’d rather be doing this.

The step class was like going back in time: I always loved step, and especially one particular instructor, Bridgett. She still teaches, so if you’re ever in Yuma, Arizona, and looking for a step class, go to the Valley of the Sun YMCA on 4th Ave.

This class was okay. The instructor was kind of shrill and I felt like she called the steps late, but I’m sure I’ll get used to her. I plan to go back.

I donated $10 to Child’s Play, on recommendation of My Chemical Romance. It’s well-known in the Gamers’ community as a charity that donates video consoles and games to hospitals and pediatric centers.

Child’s Play works in two ways. With the help of hospital staff, we set up gift wish lists full of video games, toys, books, and other fun stuff for kids. By clicking on a hospital location on our map, you can view that hospital’s wish list and send a gift.

Child’s Play also receives cash donations throughout the year. With those cash donations, we purchase new consoles, peripherals, games, and more for hospitals and therapy facilities. These donations allow for children to enjoy age-appropriate entertainment, interact with their peers, friends, and family, and can provide vital distraction from an otherwise generally unpleasant experience.

Child’s Play Charity is a nonprofit and keeps their administrative costs under 6%. They also appeal to lazy donaters:

What’s the easiest/fastest way to donate?

Text “GAMERS” to 50555 to donate $5 directly to Child’s Play! Charges will appear on your bill, or be deducted from your prepaid balance.

I’m planning to choose a new charity each month.

20120619-102347.jpg

Comments? Thoughts? Streams of Consciousness?

