Responses to My Craigslist Ad

I listed a 5-drawer dresser for sale on Craigslist. We have a zillion dressers, and it works, but not well. Besides, we just don’t need another dresser. I listed it for $6 because when I’d offered it for free, nobody had taken it.

Chargers bumper sticker included!

A few responses:

HEY STILL AVAILABLE YOU DRESSER LET ME KNOW THANKS!

No, I am not a dress. Or a dresser.

Hi I’m intrested is it borking anything wrong with it

Glad you’re intrested, it is not borking that I know of, but I’ll continue to listen for a BORK.

The next one was sweet.
hello,
you are the super women.
me too. I have 4 kids.
so if you have it.please contact to me,
thankyou.
I would have chosen him or her, but I do not call/email people who ask me to reach out to them when I’m listing an item. Also, it was the fifth or sixth response.
___________
Also, same evening I was at a Cub Scouts event to which I had brought Spicy Chicken Salad from Whole Foods Market. I’d initially bought it for myself, but found it was too spicy for me (but still delicious). I needed to bring a side-dish to this event, so I brought it. I found the following note in my (empty) dish — yes, of COURSE, I put it in a dish so that it would look homemade!

“I want this recipe!” with an email address listed.

I emailed immediately:
SPICY CHICKEN SALAD RECIPE
1. Drive to Whole Foods Market
2. Bring paycheck
3. Go to deli counter
4. Ask for SPICY CHICKEN SALAD
5. Hand over whole paycheck (it’s 8.99/lb)
6. Enjoy!
He or she wrote back, “Outstanding! Thank you!”
2 Responses

  1. I loved the chicken salad, too, and my friend (who left the note) shared your reply. Now I have seen your blog and your humor has brightened my day. What a pleasant series of events!

    And I, too, have been experiencing the joy of craigslisting…would your family enjoy some little people toys by chance?

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts on kids and friends and life through your blog. Maybe I’ll meet you in person one day at Scouts!

    Sometimes sane mom to 4+

Comments? Thoughts? Streams of Consciousness?

