I’m a Book Club Socialite

I’m currently a member of three local book clubs: Yuppies with Puppies; Blue Hairs and Shares; and SERIOUS Book Club, where we were provided with snacks and drinks, and we discussed the book for exactly 75 minutes (with a moderator) before the evening ended.

This week Yuppies with Puppies discussed Breakfast at Tiffany’s at an Asian Fusion Restaurant, where I ate crab rangoon (Nice-Nice introduced me to this delicacy!) and a chocolate cake that was so chocolate-y, I had a difficult time finishing it. (But I persevered. Because, duh. I’m me.) The women there were, well, yuppies, for lack of a better word. What I mean is, most of them were single professional women living in Raleigh, drinking wine and hiking on the weekends. They seemed to love their animal companions. Several of them skipped dessert — in favor of a drink. What the what?!?!?! Why would you ever skip dessert? Why would you ever have a drink INSTEAD OF dessert??? I really don’t get this at all. I will continue to attend Yuppies with Puppies because I’m somewhat intrigued by these strange creatures, and I like to try new restaurants for the sole purpose of ordering dessert.

My thoughts on Breakfast at Tiffany’s: I was really charmed by the writing style, which is very conversational, and simultaneously miffed at the looooooooooong sentences, although I think it was a cultural thing for the time period. Having read some older books, they punctuated thus. I’m also incredibly impressed that Truman Capote understood these very subtle nuances of society at such a young age — he published Breakfast at Tiffany’s in 1958, when he was 34. I was totally oblivious to the fact that the narrator — “Fred” — is gay. I basically thought Holly Golightly was a prostitute who treated her body very poorly. I still don’t understand why she skipped her chance to audition for a movie; it seems like the money she made from that would have lasted longer than what she got from Sally Tomato.

Last week, Blue Hairs and Shares discussed Accidental Birds of the Carolinas at a Starbucks meeting room, in which we all sat in a circle. (This seemed like a really… normal… thing to do for a book club.) And the women who attended it were OLD. Good hell. I am not an age-ist but MY GOD THEY DIDN’T USE GOOGLE. (One of the women starting asking for Ob/Gyn recommendations, and a few of the other women recommended certain doctors, and the woman asking about an Ob/Gyn just took their words for it, without using Google to look up the doctor! What the what?!?!? I don’t go to the grocery store with Googling it to find out what people think! Much less a person who will aim a speculum at my VAGINA, for god’s sake!) I was completely horrified by the entire exchange. I am not sure if I will continue with Blue Hairs and Shares. I’m a big fan of Google.

My opinion on Accidental Birds of the Carolinas: meh. Normally I don’t read short stories, and so for a book of short stories, it was good. But nothing fantastic, and I can’t even recommend it. I was curious as to how the author and editor worked together to decide on the stories that made it in; they weren’t really linked other than being set in North Carolina.  Most were average, some were below average. There were several different styles of writing, although not one in particular that stole the show. It was like the author just wanted to show that she could write in different styles. Nobody in Blue Hairs liked it particularly. Next month is Cutting for Stone.

 

Comments? Thoughts? Streams of Consciousness?

