It finally happened

My Chemical Romance subscribed to my blog. Hallelujah! I am up to, like, seven or eight active subscribers.

I think the reason that he didn’t subscribe before was that he lives with me, so he hears about all this stuff anyway, in person. And it might be more funny to read about it than to live with it. I’m not sure. Personally, I think I’m hilarious (and awesome). He has a pretty low-brow sense of humor, so maybe I’m just completely over his head. Or the stress of being the sole breadwinner for a family of seven (plus a dog) gets to him, and on top of living with me (and the six others and the dog) he doesn’t want to read about us.

For the most part, My Chemical romance supports all my wacky ideas. (And he doesn’t always say I TOLD YOU SO later, even when I’m sure he was thinking that from the beginning.) He even supports me in my hobbies that take my time away from my family:

  • being in BIRTH in 2008
  • doula-ing and teaching childbirth classes (and doing the certifications to become a doula and childbirth instructor)
  • NaNoWriMo (I won last year, in 14 days!)
  • Hula hooping (this is the second time I’ve sworn hooping and I are BFFs)
  • Midwifery school and apprenticeship (I’ll write about that someday)
  • getting pregnant with The Informant when Animal and Mineral were 18mo (BAD IDEA. They are so close together in age)
  • Couch-t0-5K and then running two 5K races (before my weight loss surgery! I was a lady clydesdale, as they say.)
  • having weight loss surgery
  • eating ice cream and spending the next 24 hours on the toilet (only worthwhile if it’s Coldstone, imo)
  • homebirth (at first he said no. Then I laughed.)
  • homeschooling — and unschooling for a year
Some of these things are like DUH, WHY WOULDN’T HE SUPPORT ME, and granted when you’re married to someone, They’re like kind of legally obligated to support you. But still, I appreciate him. Most of all, I appreciate the financial support that allows me to stay at home. I cannot imagine being away from the kids all day — maybe once in a while, but not five days a week.
4 Responses

  1. Yay for awesome hubs’! Woot!

  2. AHA! I figured out how I found your blog (you know when you find an awesome one and follow it for awhile, you forget how you found it?!?!) You participated in a Natural Parenting blog carnival that I did–about food! This one: http://vosefamily.blogspot.com/2010/09/schooling-three-little-piggies.html

    That was back when you were cream of mommy, not cinco de. I’m not sure why this feels so exciting. =)

Comments? Thoughts? Streams of Consciousness?

