Things I have done since I moved

  • Cried every day. Usually it’s every morning, for a few minutes, when I wake up and see the boxes in my room and think of my Jugs.
  • Thought, “… however, I do really enjoy this house.” Seriously, I **really** like this house. I like how it’s made (sturdy), I like the floors (fake hardwood), I like how all the bedrooms are upstairs, and I like the lack-of east- and west-facing windows.
  • Attended some homeschool group-wide activities. There’s a large, active homeschool umbrella group here and I’ve been to some events. I’ve met some moms.
  • Cursed the fact that I’m totally STARTING OVER with making friends. People here don’t know that they like me yet. When I lived in Charlotte, I used to joke that I offered “mercy invites” to lunch with women at La Leche League or My Chemical Romance’s friends’ wives — women who looked like they could use a friend. And now, of course, I am the mercy invitee. Seriously, I nearly wept with joy when a lovely homeschool mom invited me to eat lunch with her at a picnic. I could feel a panic attack beginning when I went through the lunch line and realized I’d have to sit alone (alone = with “just” my five kids).
  • Annoyed the hell out of My Chemical Romance. I chalk it up to the stress of moving. I alternate between morose and hyperactively insisting that I WANT TO PARK MY CAR IN THE GARAGE RIGHT NOW, SO CLEAR OUT ALL THESE FREAKIN’ BOXES! NOW! RIGHT NOW! ARE YOU LISTENING TO ME?!?!?!?
  • Found several Harris Teeters. Ah, yes, I’m still in North Carolina. There’s a HT on every third block, I tell you.
  • Panicked about the hurricane — I’m a lot closer to the coast here — and then found it was nothing more than a wind-and-rain storm.
  • Got a library card. Watch out, evil library witches! Your newest least-favorite-patron-ever has arrived!
  • Gawked at the library hours: They’re open EVERY DAY. Every single day. In Charlotte, the library budget was cut every third week, to the point where my closest local library was open four days per week, for a total of 32 hours.
  • Went to Costco and brought up their stock level by re-stocking my house.
2 Responses

  1. LIKE! Good luck settling in! Making new friends is hardhardhard, but you sound like you’re pretty good at it =) You wrote a post about how to make friends and I loved it. I have a hard time making friends because I’m pretty shy but I thought your approach was pretty wise. Hag in there! And you’re pretty funny, thanks for making me laugh!

Comments? Thoughts? Streams of Consciousness?

