Dear North Carolina: Legalize Certified Professional Midwives!

I had a homebirth in Arizona, and then another homebirth in North Carolina. In Arizona, Certified Professional Midwives are legally allowed to provide prenatal care and attend homebirths.

Not so in North Carolina.

North Carolina is one of a few states that does not recognize the legal status of Certified Professional Midwives. That means a midwife who has passed a national evaluation program of midwifery skills, the North American Registry of Midwives, is not legally recognized as a provider of prenatal care or birth. Our neighbors in South Carolina, Virginia, and Tennessee all recognize the CPM credential. But not North Carolina.

I’m attending the Birth Freedom March in Raleigh, NC, on March 2, and afterward I’m meeting with my representatives. I’m bringing my homebirthed-in-North-Carolina baby. I want to tell them that the midwifery model of care is important to me. I want to tell them that out-of-hospital midwifery with a trained midwife is safe and should be an option for women in North Carolina. Because it’s not just about homebirth; it’s about giving women options for their own healthcare. And I support that.

 

Comments? Thoughts? Streams of Consciousness?

