Larger than my baby's head

With all the weight I’ve gained over the years, then lost after my weight loss surgery, and then gained 40lbs during pregnancy — throughout all of that, my breasts have stayed constant. One of my friends referred to them as my “giant nursing appendages.” In a nod to politics, I freely post breastfeeding pictures on Face*book, and yes they are obscene by Face*book standards because I’m using my breasts to feed my child and I’m not in a bikini making duck face.

Anyway, here I am, alive, with a family that now includes My Chemical Romance, Animal, Mineral, The Informant, My Masterpiece, The Dog Without a Downside, and Tax Deduction. Who might get a new name. One friend suggested Magnum Opus, because I just love my little TD so much, and I have so many hormones coursing through my body, I think TD is the most beautiful baby I’ve ever seen, and I am preternaturally cheerful.  I don’t mind nursing 23/7. I rarely put TD down, making use of my 252352353 slings and carriers and pouches and wraps. (My favorites are Two Mommas Design half-buckle tai; Sleeping Baby Productions ring sling that my mom made; New Native pouch.)

Keeping up with so many children is a little rough. Some days are easier than others. I learned the first week alone that I can only do errands on certain days (T/Th) and that giving my kids outside chores (like walking the dog) is helpful. Animal and Mineral have a lot of energy. Mineral and The Informant are very impulsive. And My Masterpiece is a genuine three-year-old.

Moo!

 

3 Responses

  1. Well then, I guess you won’t need my Maya sling that I finally found last week?

  2. Moo, back at you too! I fed our middle son until he was positively ancient and am still feeding my 17 month old youngest. I had the shock of my life last year when I actually saw my body naked in a full-length mirror for the first time in years. I came home and told my husband that I didn’t look like myself anymore. Apparently he already knew. But anyhoo I love what my body has done. Sounds like you do too. Moo!

  3. I’m genuinely and sincerely happy for you. 🙂

Comments? Thoughts? Streams of Consciousness?

